Legendary beauty


Indulge in white sandy beaches, topaz blue waters and everything paradise should be

The Republic of Seychelles is an archipelago of 115 islands in the Indian Ocean, 1500km (930mi) east of mainland Africa and north of Madagascar. The archipelago is made up of what is known as the inner and outer islands, over 85% of which are coralline.

Mahé is the largest of the inner islands and is also home to the capital city Victoria. Praslin is the second largest island and one of the only places in the world where the spectacular Coco de Mer palms grow naturally.

North Island, 27km (17mi) northwest of Mahé was the first Seychelles island to be discovered when sailors first set foot on this island in 1609. The island is an unspoilt beach paradise and sanctuary for indigenous flora and fauna.

The Seychelles forms part of the planet’s longest coral reef system and has some of the world’s best scuba diving sites. It is often referred to as ‘a living museum’ for rare species of flora and fauna.

Situated outside of the cyclone belt, it enjoys a pleasant tropical climate all year round.

Facts and figures

  • Capital


  • Population

    89 949

  • Currency


  • Time zone


Highlights and sights

Join us and discover the
magic of Seychelles

Follow our
adventures in Africa

For the latest news, events and offers subscribe to our monthly newsletter